To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept.
The FAQ goes on to note, “For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.” A spokesperson tells TechCrunch that “a short time” is a couple of weeks.
While not great, it’s not nearly as bad as it seems on the surface. You can read more about the update here.
- WhatsApp is adding FaceID and fingerprint recognition for its desktop applications
- What is Signal and how do you sign up for it?
- Telegram tops TikTok to become the most downloaded app in January 2021
- Facebook’s latest version of Messenger literally sits on your face thanks to Oculus VR headsets