Connect with us
hellotech banner ad

How-To

How to delete a PayPal account

If you’re ready to cut ties, here’s how to delete your PayPal account.

paypal logo on blurred background
Image: KnowTechie

Quick Answer: The simplest way to delete your PayPal account is by accessing the settings menu on PayPal’s website. From there, go to Account Options and click on Delete PayPal. Instructions for mobile devices are provided below.

Are you done with your PayPal account? Perhaps you’ve found a worthy replacement. Or maybe you don’t agree with the company’s ever-changing policies. Or perhaps the ease of transactions is causing you to overshop.

Let’s be honest—if it’s the latter, do you really think PayPal is the problem? It’s like a crack addict blaming an ATM for dispensing money for drugs.

Anyway, if you do want to nuke your PayPal account, you’re in luck because the process is actually quite simple. Let’s get to it.

What to do before deleting your PayPal account

Before you delete your PayPal account, whether it’s a personal or business account, you’ll want to make sure to withdraw any remaining Paypal balance by logging in to your Paypal account using the Paypal website or Paypal app.

This image is showing how Brandbird can help businesses set up an online store with PayPal, offer customers flexible ways to pay, and get paid quickly with PayPal invoicing. Full Text: ... + > Brandbird www.brandbird.app Personal Business Enterprise v Developer Help Log In Sign Up Ready to start selling Welcome back! online? ***** Log in Allow customers to buy from you from nearly anywhere, any time. Open an online Forgot username/password? store with a trusted PayPal partner and get PayPa PayPal Checkout built in. Pay Late Need help setting up your account? Debit or Credit Card Learn More Get Started Learn how we're responding to COVID-19 and how we can help your business adapt. Offer NextGen shoppers flexible Easy to Send, easy to get paid. ways to pay. It only takes a few clicks to create, send, and get paid fast with PayPal Pay Later helps you connect with millennial and Gen Z PayPal Invoicing.
Image: KnowTechie

Firstly, you should make sure you’re totally, undoubtedly, absolutely, positively sure you want to delete your account. Because once you take such a final, drastic step, there’s no going back.

When you close a PayPal account, it’s gone forever. To some, the thought is liberating. To others, it’s distressing—so make sure you’re sure before you delete your PayPal account permanently.

Also, be sure to download your transaction history for your records before closing your account. This way, you’ll have a log of your financial activity if you need it after your Paypal account is closed.

Secondly, you should transfer any remaining money out of the account you’re about to close, whether that’s business or personal. That’s an obvious one.

Thirdly, you should complete any outstanding transactions and pay any unpaid invoices. PayPal won’t let you close your account until you address any financial concerns, including a negative balance.

Once you’ve got your affairs in order, you’re ready to annihilate your PayPal account and remove it from existence.

How to delete a PayPal account using the website

Make your way to PayPal’s website

Go to the PayPal website and ensure you’re logged in to the account you want to close

Make your way to the settings page

Click the Settings icon in the top right corner

Close your account

Under Account Options, select Close your account

Okay, seriously, close your account now

When prompted to confirm, you’ll also see the option to ask PayPal to delete your data, which you can choose to do if you don’t want the platform to retain your private information.

Delete a PayPal account using the mobile app

If you’d prefer to close your PayPal account via the mobile app, you can do so by following these steps:

  1. Launch the PayPal app and ensure you’re logged in to the account you want to close
  1. Tap the Profile icon in the top right corner
In this image, the customer service representative is helping the customer to get their account back on track by providing more information so they can send and spend money and use their PayPal balance. Full Text: 9:51 ? !.. 44% -. Your account's limited. Let's ge IS back on track. Provide some more info s you can send > and spend money and use your PayPal balance. Welcome! Get started with PayPal *K
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Scroll down and select Close your account
The image displays a menu of options for a user to manage their account preferences. Full Text: Login and security Notification preferences Marketing preferences Help Close your account [> Log out Legal Agreements İK Version 8.44.0
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Tap Close Account on the next prompt to confirm and permanently delete your account

That’s it. Once you complete the final confirmation, you can consider your PayPal account taken care of. It won’t be around to bother you anymore.

Can you reopen a closed PayPal account?

As mentioned, closing a PayPal account is a permanent action, and there’s no way to resurrect a nuked account.

However, if you change your mind and decide you do want PayPal in your life, you can always create a new account and start fresh. You can even use the same email address as before.

Basically, if you’ve had a change of heart, you can recreate your old account and act as if nothing ever happened.

How can I transfer my PayPal balance before deleting my account?

  • Log into PayPal
  • Click “Wallet”
  • Under “PayPal balance”, click “Transfer Money”
  • Click “Transfer to your bank”
  • Select your bank account
  • Enter the amount and click “Next”
  • Review and click “Transfer Now”

Can I create a new PayPal account with the same email after deletion?

Absolutely! Once you’ve said goodbye to your old PayPal account, you can use the same email to start fresh with a new one. Just make sure you’ve given the deletion process some time to fully wrap up before you dive back in.

Will deleting my PayPal account affect my credit score?

Closing your PayPal account isn’t like closing a credit card – it won’t ding your credit score. PayPal doesn’t chat with credit bureaus like Experian, TransUnion, or Equifax about your account activity. So, you can delete your account without any credit score concerns. But if you have a PayPal Credit account, that’s a different story. Always best to check with a financial advisor or directly with PayPal if you’re unsure.

Have any thoughts on this? Drop us a line below in the comments, or carry the discussion to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Follow us on Flipboard, Google News, or Apple News

Matt is an Australian writer with a degree in creative and critical writing. Prior to commencing his studies, he worked in tech support and gained valuable insights into technology and its users. He is also an editor and author coach at Dean Publishing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in How-To

mcafeee banner ad