Connect with us

Apps

If you’re a crappy rider, Uber will deactivate your crappy account

Good.

uber app
Image: Banker & Tradesman

Uber has been doing a lot to improve its service and now, the company has announced that it will start deactivating accounts for users with extremely low ratings.

This news comes after Uber introduced new driver interaction options and a new unlimited plan with Uber Eats.

Uber will deactivate rider accounts if their rating gets too low

“Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability,” notes Uber Head of Safety Brand and Initiatives Kate Parker in a blog post. Here’s what you need to know about the system that goes into effect today:

  • Riders have always had a rating, but it has never meant much
  • There is no “magic number”
  • The threshold will be based on individual city averages
  • It will first affect drivers in the US and Canada
  • Riders will receive tips through the app on how to improve their rating

This is all part of Uber’s updated and improved community guidelines that users will have to confirm they acknowledge when they open up the app.

READ MORE: Uber just made it hella easy to find your rider rating in its app

Honestly, it’s good to see this. People are terrible and shouldn’t be rewarded for those terrible behaviors. I personally can’t wait to see irate people complain about the new system on Twitter when they can’t find a ride.

What do you think? Glad to see this system put in place or do you have concerns about the new system put in place by Uber? Let us know down below in the comments or carry the discussion over to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Senior Editor with a focus on all things tech and gaming. Life Adventurer. You can keep up with me on Twitter: @Josiah_Motley

Comments

More in Apps