Connect with us

News

The Facebook privacy notice everyone is posting is a sham

Is your Facebook newsfeed riddled with some privacy notice chain letter? Yes, it’s a bogus sham. Here’s everything you need to know.

If you checked your Facebook feed recently, you have probably seen a bunch of people posting some weird “privacy notice.” Here’s what it looks like if you haven’t seen one:

Now it’s official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: $5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to “private”. If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste
Better safe than sorry is right. Channel 13 News was just talking about this change in Facebook’s privacy policy. Better safe than sorry.

As of September 28th 11:30 am Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.”

Since it urges it people to copy and paste this into their own statuses, everyone and their mother feel obligated to share this glorious discovery.

But in the end, it’s all bullshit.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 11.31.25 AM

To be honest, Facebook doesn’t want anything you post. All the stuff you choose to post on the social platform belongs to you. This includes, status updates, pictures, videos, and even fake Facebook “privacy notices”.

The funniest thing about this all is that everyone thinks that reposting this chain message will prevent Facebook from violating your privacy. But just remember, you agreed to the company’s Terms of Service when you first signed up. Essentially agreeing to give Facebook “a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook.”

So if you’re really up in arms about Facebook “violating your privacy,” you have two options: delete your account or don’t sign up at all.

Founder & Editor. Email me at kevin@knowtechie.com

Advertisement

More in News