Connect with us

How-To

How to download and delete your data from Facebook

See what Facebook has on you.

delete facebook
Image: The OpinionPanel Community

Facebook started in 2004, as a platform for college students at specific schools, and then was made public to the entire planet in 2006. Now in 2018, some users have photos, videos, and posts from over the past decade.

If you are contemplating leaving the platform due to recent reports, but have been worried about losing your content, there is a way to download it all. There is a way to download all of your content from Facebook. You do not have to worry about Facebook holding your media and data hostage. Take charge and snatch it back from them.

How to download your photos

facebook data archive

Image: Screenshot / KnowTechie

  1. Head to Facebook on your computer, and click the downward arrow on the top-right
  2. Go to Settings
  3. There will be an option about halfway down that will include a “download a copy of your Facebook data” link. Click it.
  4. Select “start my archive.”
  5. You will be prompted to enter your account password. Enter it.
  6. Facebook will email you a copy of all your data to your registered email. It takes a while.
  7. Once you receive the email, download the attached ZIP file.

If you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, follow the steps below.

How to permanently delete your account on Facebook

delete facebook account

Image: Screenshot / KnowTechie

  1. Click on this link. This link is deep within Facebook’s Help section and is somewhat hard to find.
  2. Re-enter your password and fill out the security captcha.
  3. Once you are done with the information, select OK to start the deletion process
  4. It can take up to 90 days for all of your data to be deleted from Facebook’s servers. Do not sign back in within the 90-day period, as it will reinstate your account

After you are done with deleting your account, make sure you remove the Facebook app from all of your devices including cell phones, tablets, smart TVs, and anywhere else you have it.

Another good preventive measure to take to ensure all of your data is deleted is to delete all of the other third or first-party apps you have connected to Facebook before you delete your account. It seems like other applications collect data from Facebook, so it is better to be safe than sorry.

What do you think about the recent Facebook reports about the social media platform’s data collection? Do you feel safe on the website? Are or have you deleted your Facebook account? Let us know down in the comments!

Comments

More in How-To