Connect with us
hellotech banner ad

Google

How to disable Google Photos Memories

If there are some photos you’d rather leave in the past, you have options with Google Photos.

google photos logo 2022 and blurred background
Image: KnowTechie

Quick Answer: To disable Memories on Google Photos, you’ll need to head to the Photo settings menu on the mobile app. We’ll walk you through the process below.

If you enjoy being reminded of events and moments from the past years, Memories on Google Photos is a great feature.

That said, sometimes there might be things from your past that you want to keep but would prefer not to be reminded about.

Nothing can mess up your mood like seeing a moment from your life that you weren’t prepared for. So if you feel the same, you can thankfully adjust the feature on Google Photos. Here’s how to do it.

How to turn off Google Photos Memories

Google Photos gives users the option to select people or animals that they do not want to be featured in memories, as well as dates.

READ MORE: T-Mobile is bringing back unlimited Google Photos storage

However, the only way to change the configurations is through the Google Photos app (Android and iOS). The web version does not offer the same functionality.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s show you how to turn off Memories in Google Photos.

Open Google Photos
Open the Google Photos app and tap your profile picture at the top of the screen
Navigate to Photo Settings
Go to Photos settings if you’re using an Android device or Google Photos settings if you have an iPhone
Select Preferences
iPhone users will have to select Preferences next.
Select Memories
Make your way to Memories and select it. This is where the magic happens.
Select Hide people & pets
If there is a specific person you do not want to see appearing in your Google Photos memories, select Hide people & pets. Google Photos will suggest friends and pets to disable from memories, but you can also manually make your own edits.
Hide dates
If you want to avoid memories from specific dates, tap Hide dates and select the dates you want to be removed.
Disable Google Photos Memories notifications
It’s also possible to disable all Google Photos notifications. To start, select Notifications from the Memories page
Make your adjustments
Go to the Memories section and select which notifications you want to disable. If you want to completely disable all types of memories, drag both Time-based memories and Themed memories sliders to the left in the Memories types.

There you go! A quick and easy guide to changing your Memories on Google Photos. Remember, this will only affect how photos are displayed for you; it won’t delete any photos or prevent them from being backed up.

Stop Google Photos Memories from ruining your day

Google Photos Memories is a nice little feature to remind you of certain times or experiences you’ve had. But not all photos deserve to be a part of your memory notifications.

Fortunately, the app gives you some control over the memories it shares. You can block faces and pets or remove certain dates from your memories altogether.

Plus, you can adjust the notifications that the app sends out. Use these features to turn Google Photos Memories into a pleasant feature that you will appreciate.

streaming platforms on tv

Ready to switch to iCloud from Google Photos?

Thankfully, you can transfer photos in just a couple of steps.

Have any thoughts on this? Let us know down below in the comments or carry the discussion over to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Follow us on Flipboard, Google News, or Apple News

Krima Desai is a passionate technology journalist with extensive experience in leading online media outlets.

2 Comments

2 Comments

  1. miyu_kt

    July 18, 2023 at 8:47 pm

    this useless advice has been cut and pasted from other sites.

    It does not work.

    I have turned all memories off and yet i am still getting “Best of Month” rubbish in my photos.

    You would think a KnowTechie would test these things first.

  2. SVoevoda

    September 29, 2023 at 12:17 am

    Agree with miyu_kt above.

    None of these “journalists” checked if it really works.
    And it doesn’t – the “improvement” stays there taking 1/2 of the screen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Google

mcafeee banner ad