WhatsApp’s “View Once” feature is coming back to web and desktop
Another Snapchat-inspired feature is making a comeback to WhatsApp Web and desktop.
It is also finally bringing back a once revered feature for photos and videos, “View Once,” to the desktop version of WhatsApp after a year-long hiatus.
WhatsApp’s view-once was a critical feature, where users could send photos or videos that could only be viewed once and couldn’t be downloaded or taken a screenshot of.
In addition, users won’t be able to forward the content sent via the “View Once” format to anyone.
However, exactly one year ago, Meta removed this feature from its desktop app due to privacy concerns, as desktop users were able to take a screenshot, and the company couldn’t prevent it.
WhatsApp is bringing back “View Once” to the web and desktop again
It seems the company has finally addressed the security concerns and is bringing back the feature to the users for a consistent security-focused experience across all the platforms.
According to the report, the widely anticipated “View Once” is finally rolling out for the web, Windows, and macOS users. It will be gradually made available across all the regions.
So, with “view Once” back, users can finally share sensitive content without an apparent risk or concerns about the content being saved on the recipient’s device.
Once the recipient opens and closes the media, it will be deleted permanently from the chat history, leaving no trace.
- WhatsApp may soon introduce ads, whether you like it or not
- WhatsApp’s new search feature will let you search messages by date
- WhatsApp finally lets you use two accounts on the same device
- WhatsApp is finally coming to iPad as latest beta gets iPadOS support