Connect with us

How-To

How to delete your Google Maps location history

It’s extremely easy.

how to google maps
Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

Google tracks all of your steps.

In fact, Google Maps keeps records of all the location you have visited while holding the phone in the pocket. Just because you trust the app, it doesn’t mean all the places you have ever been need to live on the Google servers forever.

Fortunately, you can head over to Google Maps Timeline to find out about:

  • Places you have visited
  • Manage location history
  • Entirely, turn off the location tracking
  • Delete Location History

If you’re interested, here’s what you need to head over to the portal and make changes the way you want.

Turn Off Location History

1. Launch your default web browser and visit Google Maps Timelines using this link: https://www.google.com/maps/timeline

2. Next, click on the button called “Manage Location History.” You will find it at the bottom of the screen.

how to google maps

Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

You can also click on the Settings icon (Gear) available on the bottom-right side and select “Pause Location History” from the menu.

3. Here, on the Activity page, you need to move the slider on “Location history” to the OFF position.

how to google maps

Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

Delete Location History

1. You need to open the Google Maps app on your phone.

2. Tap on the ‘Hamburger icon‘ available on the upper left corner and select ‘Your timeline.’

how to google maps

Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

3. Next, tap on the More icon available on the upper right corner and select “Settings.”

how to google maps

Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

4. Here, you need to scroll down to ‘Location settings‘ and choose “Delete all Location history” or “Delete Location History Range” to delete location history.

how to google maps

Image: Viney Dhiman / KnowTechie

To delete location history while using Google Maps on the desktop, you need to head over to Google Maps Timeline and then click on the ‘Trash icon‘ to delete all location history.

This feature deletes your history, but honestly, who knows if these steps actually delete all the information from the Google servers.

Find this blog post useful? What are your thoughts? Let us know down below in the comments or carry the discussion over to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Comments
Advertisement

More in How-To