Twitter will now remember your preferred timeline on desktop
Twitter is quickly backpedaling on its default ‘For You’ tab.
Twitter is pushing out a timeline update that will help users remain on their preferred timeline even after closing the site.
When Twitter released its ‘For You’ tab to accompany the Following tab last week, many users were unhappy. Its algorithmic approach to content meant people would see many tweets from people they didn’t follow.
Now, the company has noted that Twitter for web will remember the last timeline (‘For You’ vs Following) you used, even if you close the site.
Sadly, it is only available for web users at this time, but the company notes that it will be rolling out for iOS and Android “soon.”
This isn’t the first time Twitter has tried to introduce multiple timelines for users. In 2022, the company introduced a similar tabs feature that was also met with backlash.
It only took a couple of days for the company to backpedal on that decision.
Now, we’re seeing literally the same thing play out again, but this time under the rule of Elon Musk.
In theory, an algorithmic feed that shows you content from people you may not follow is nice, but having it as the default every time you launch Twitter is messy. This update should help.
- Twitter Blue drops annual prices in desperate attempt to make money
- Meta Quest owners can watch more NBA and WNBA games in VR
- Instagram now has a ‘Quiet mode’ to help distracted teens
- Seattle schools sue TikTok, Meta over mental health concerns