Connect with us

How-To

How to delete your Twitter account

You can make all of those regrettable tweets disappear from Twitter forever.

twitter logo on blurred background
Image: KnowTechie

So the time has finally come. You’ve had enough of the cat memes and constant barrage of bad news and you’re ready to delete your Twitter account. Fortunately, the platform makes the process pretty easy, and we’ve got you covered with set-by-step instructions.

By this point, social media has likely wormed its way into your lives in an inescapable fashion. It can become quite addicting to mindlessly scroll through the constant barrage of news, shitposts, and questionable memes.

But it doesn’t have to be that way. You can break away from the monotonous filth that people feel compelled to share on social media. And why not start with Twitter?

Below, we’ll show you a complete guide on how to deactivate your Twitter account. We’ll start off with deactivating your account through a web browser on your computer. But if you primarily use the mobile Twitter app, you can skip ahead to the Android or iOS sections below.

Deactivating vs. Deleting – what’s the difference?

twitter app on iphone
Image: Unsplash

Before you go and delete your Twitter account, there are a couple of things that you should know. First of all, you have to deactivate your account before being able to delete it. Deactivating your account doesn’t automatically delete the account forever.

READ MORE: How to set up 2FA on Twitter

When you deactivate your account, it technically won’t be deleted completely. No one will be able to access your profile or see any of your tweets, but the profile will technically still exist for 30 days.

That’s to give you enough time to reconsider your decision. If you deactivate your Twitter account but decide you made a hasty decision, you will have 30 days to recover the account before it’s permanently deleted.

Simply log back into your account before the 30 days are over, and you’ll be prompted to reactivate.

How to delete your Twitter account on a computer

The first method that we’re going to look at is how to deactivate your Twitter account on a computer through a web browser. Start by heading to Twitter.com and logging into your account.

  1. Click the More option in the left column
twitter website more button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Select the Settings and Privacy option
twitter website settings and privacy
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Click Your account then Deactivate your account
twitter website deactivate your account
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Read through Twitter’s deactivation warnings then click Deactivate
twitter website deactivate button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Confirm your password and click Deactivate once more
twitter website confirm password and deactivate
Image: KnowTechie

And there you go. Remember, if you’re opting for the delete option, you will have to wait 30 days before the account will be officially deleted.

READ MORE: How to change your Twitter password

People won’t be able to access your profile when it’s in a deactivated state. But you technically have time to reinstate your account before Twitter deletes it permanently. Otherwise, the account will be permanently gone after 30 days.

How to delete your Twitter account using the iOS app

Nowadays, the majority of us use Twitter on our iPhones or Android. If that’s the case, don’t worry. You can still deactivate your account using the mobile app.

First, we’ll check out how to deactivate your Twitter account on the iOS app. Start by opening the app and logging into your account.

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top left
twitter ios profile picture
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Select Settings and Privacy
twitter ios settings and privacy
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Tap Your account
twitter ios your account button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Choose the Deactivate your account option
twitter ios deactivate your account button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Read over Twitter’s warnings and tap Deactivate
twitter ios deactivate account screen
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Enter your password and select Deactivate again to confirm
twitter ios confirm deactivate account
Image: KnowTechie

READ MORE: How to add alt text to images on Twitter

That’s all you need to do to deactivate your Twitter account through the iOS Twitter app. Again, you will have a 30-day grace period after deactivating your account that will let you log back in and reactivate. But once that 30 days is up, your account will be gone forever.

How to delete your Twitter account using the Android app

And finally, we’ll take a look at how to deactivate your Twitter account using the Android version of the app. The process is similar to the process on iOS, although the menus might look a little different. Again. start by opening the app and logging into your account.

  1. Tap your profile picture in the top left
twitter android profile picture
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Swipe down and select Settings and Privacy
twitter android settings and privacy
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Tap Your account
twitter android your account button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Select the Deactivate your account option
twitter android deactivate account button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Read through Twitter’s warnings and select Deactivate
twitter android deactivate account page
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Enter your password and select Deactivate again to confirm
twitter android confirm deactivate account
Image: KnowTechie

And that’s it. Once you hit that deactivate button for the final time, you have 30 days when you can log back into your account and reactivate. After that 30 days, Twitter will delete your account permanently.

Make sure you’re certain before you completely delete your account

Now you have all the necessary tools needed to get rid of your Twitter account once and for all. Just make sure that you’ve thought about your decision completely.

You will have a 30-day grace period after deactivating when you can log back in and reactivate your account. But once that 30 days is up, your account is gone forever and there’s no way to get it back.

The power is completely in your hands. But you will get a 30-day second chance in case you make a hasty decision and deactivate your account after seeing the latest Elon Musk shitpost.

Have any thoughts on this? Let us know down below in the comments or carry the discussion over to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Contributing writer with a passion for gaming and tech. Probably getting wrecked by some kids in Rocket League.

Comments

More in How-To