Connect with us

How-To

How to deactivate your Facebook account

Sometimes you just need a break.

Facebook logo with blurred facebook website in background
Image: KnowTechie

If you ever get to the point where you’re tired of your constant Facebook connection, you can always deactivate your account.

Deactivating your Facebook account is not the same as deleting it. When you delete an account, it’s gone forever (after a few days).

On the other hand, you can always reactivate a deactivated Facebook account. All you have to do is log in with your credentials, and the account will be reactivated.

The process to deactivate your Facebook account is relatively straightforward as long as you know where to go. We’ll show you the exact steps.

What does deactivating your Facebook account do?

Meta and facebook logo on grey background
Image: Unsplash

Deactivating your account accomplishes a few things. The most significant effect is that no one will be able to see your profile anymore.

That includes friends, non-friends, and anyone else. Even if someone searches for your account, they won’t see your profile.

Short on time? Jump ahead

Any pages that only you control will also be deactivated. If there are other admins on the page, it will still exist. However, if you are the sole admin, no one can see that page until you reactivate your account.

You also won’t be able to log in to your Meta Quest headset with that Facebook account. However, you can always migrate to a Meta account and use that instead.

The Messenger account associated with your Facebook account will still be active. You can still use it to message people, and people can still message you.

You must delete your Facebook account completely to get rid of your Messenger account.

How to deactivate Facebook on a computer

You can deactivate your Facebook account on a computer or through the mobile app. First, we’ll show you the process for deactivating using a computer.

  1. Click your profile picture in the top rightFacebook desktop profile picture

  2. Select Settings & PrivacyFacebook desktop settings and privacy

  3. Choose SettingsFacebook desktop settings button

  4. Select the Your Facebook Information tabFacebook desktop your facebook information

  5. Click View next to Deactivation and deletionFacebook desktop view account deactivation and deletion

  6. Select Deactivate and click Continue to account deactivationFacebook desktop deactivate account

  7. Enter any reasons you like for deactivating then click Deactivate at the bottomFacebook desktop final confirmation account deactivation

That’s all you have to do to deactivate your Facebook account. Now, no one will be able to see your profile until you log back in.

Remember, this isn’t the same as deleting your account. When you deactivate, you always have the option to log back in and reactivate your account.

How to deactivate Facebook on the mobile app

You can also deactivate your Facebook account on the mobile app for iOS or Android. The process is pretty similar, though the menus do look a bit different.

  1. Select the three-line menu in the top right of your Facebook app
Facebook mobile hamburger menu
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Tap the Settings cogwheel
Facebook mobile settings cogwheel
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Select Personal and account information
Facebook mobile personal and account information
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Tap Account ownership and control at the bottom
Facebook mobile account ownership and control button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Select Deactivation and deletion
Facebook mobile deactivation and deletion button
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Choose Deactivate account and tap Continue to account deactivation
Facebook mobile continue to deactivation
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Choose your reasons for deactivating and select Continue (you may need to enter your Password before this step)
Facebook mobile reasons for deactivating
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Scroll to the bottom and choose when you want your account to reactivate (if you choose Don’t reactivate automatically, you can still reactivate by logging in later), then select Continue
Facebook mobile when to reactivate your account
Image: KnowTechie
  1. Facebook offers one more chance to cancel. Swipe to the bottom and select Deactivate my account
Facebook mobile confirm deactivating your account
Image: KnowTechie

And finally, you have deactivated your account. Obviously, Facebook makes the process of deactivating your account long and drawn out. The company really wants your account to stay active.

Take a break

Deactivating your Facebook account is a great way to take a break from the constant connection of social media.

The process is unnecessarily lengthy, but it’s pretty straightforward. Plus, you can always reactivate your account when you want by simply logging back in with your password.

If you ever get tired of Facebook but don’t want to commit to fully deleting your account, deactivation is the best option for you.

Have any thoughts on this? Drop us a line below in the comments, or carry the discussion over to our Twitter or Facebook.

Editors’ Recommendations:

Follow us on Flipboard, Google News, or Apple News

Staff writer at KnowTechie. Alex has two years of experience covering all things technology, from video games to electric cars. He's a gamer at heart, with a passion for first-person shooters and expansive RPGs. Shoot him an email at alex@knowtechie.com

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in How-To